Tags

, , , , , ,

Today the Dearest Husband took the kids to Nana’s house for the morning.  I had a morning all to myself, and I didn’t get a lot done.  But then I realized that I needed to bake bread.  And I wanted to make a pumpkin pie from one of the ugly pumpkins out of our garden. The pretty ones we will make into Jack-O-Lanterns.

So I started the pumpkin pieces baking in the oven.  I made plain white sandwich bread from this recipe, which I use even though I don’t actually own a bread machine anymore.  It is my favorite sandwich bread recipe, although I only use 2 tsp, or even 1 1/2 tsp, of instant yeast.  It makes more than one 8″ x 4 1/2″ pan can really hold, though, so I usually take part of the dough and make a mini-loaf or a few rolls.  This time it was four buns.

One child returned from Nana’s but took a good long nap, which I appreciated immensely.  The other two were still there, playing and eating lots of sweets, which is pretty much what Nana’s house is for, right?

I called my mom to get instructions for how to make roasted pumpkin seeds (just toss the seeds with a little oil and salt/seasonings, and bake for 10-20 minutes at 350 degrees on a cookie sheet).

It was a pretty big pumpkin, and gave me enough to make two pies and three or so batches of pumpkin bread, plus some baby food.  I put quite a bit of puree in the freezer.  We really only need one pie at a time here.  I also made some pumpkin bread for breakfast tomorrow.

This took pretty much all of the afternoon.  I forgot how much more work pumpkin pie from actual pumpkins is (as opposed to popping open a can of pumpkin puree). While I was doing all this baking, my kitchen minion the crock pot was fixing supper for me, Slow Cooker Carnitas, which will be BBQ sandwiches tomorrow for lunch.  On the buns that I made, of course.

I feel very productive.  Not only did we have pie for dessert, and we have bread for the next few days, I probably won’t have to cook at all tomorrow, just assemble sandwiches at lunch and heat up more leftovers at supper.

The pile of dishes from all of this was epic, but the Dearest Husband kindly did them for me.

Hey, there’s a lot of pie on this bread blog…

