Tags

, , , , ,

This sandwich is the brainchild of a six-year old.  My daughter said at lunch on Sunday “What would happen if I put cole slaw on my sandwich?”  Lo and behold, it was delicious.  The meat is leftover slow cooker carnitas.  The pork has a nice flavor and it blends well with the cole slaw, which is just a basic recipe with cabbage, carrots, mayo, vinegar, sugar, and celery seed.  The crunchy cabbage also gives it a nice texture.

What you need:

  • 2 slices bread, toasted
  • 1/2 cup or so shredded meat (this would probably be good with leftover roast, too)
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup  cole slaw
  • 1 slice cheese of choice (I used American)

Pile it all on the toast and enjoy!

When I was thinking about writing this post, I had a flashback to third or fourth grade when we had to write a detailed description of how to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich:  Pick up the knife, take the lid off of the jelly, spread the jelly (Oh no, you forgot to say “on the bread”.  The person reading it might spread it on the counter!), etc.

I kind of figure if you are reading this, you can manage the mechanics of putting a sandwich together.  If you read my scanty instructions and ended up with a messy pile of cheese, meat, and coleslaw on top of two pieces of toast, you have my sincere apologies.

