Tags

, , , , ,

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name, that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.
–Ephesians 3:14-19 (NASB)

The Holy Spirit and how He works is a tough topic for me.  There is so much I don’t know, so many contradictory opinions.  I find the words of a familiar children’s song running through my head, though. Jesus loves me, this I know, for the Bible tells me so.

So I return to what the Bible tells me.  Ephesians 3:16 records that in Paul’s prayer for the Ephesians, he requested “that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man”(NASB).

So one thing the Bible tells me about the Holy Spirit is this: that the Holy Spirit strengthens me from within.  The mechanics of the spiritual world are a mystery to us, since they can’t be seen or measured, but I have a mental picture that helps me wrap my mind around it: the Holy Spirit is like eggs.

Not eggs over easy, or scrambled eggs, but like the eggs in my favorite corn muffin recipe.  I’ve stopped trying new recipes for corn muffins, because I found the one that is just what I want.*  A large part of why it is perfect is that it uses two eggs instead of just one.

Eggs have a stabilizing effect in batter quick breads.  They hold them together.  Because my corn muffins have two eggs instead of one, they are not crumbly.  The eggs strengthen them.  You can’t separate the eggs out, or point to them in the muffin if you cut it open, but they are there.

I can’t see the Holy Spirit in me with my eyes, and He won’t show up on any x-ray, yet I know He is there and affects my life and actions – not as a puppet master affects a marionette, but the way that eggs affect my muffins, subtly and from within, helping me comprehend the love of Christ.

___________________________
*In case you are curious, it is the cornbread recipe from the back of the Shur-Fine corn meal package.

