Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My mother-in-law passes along her King Arthur Flour catalogs because they have recipes and are just interesting to go through (if you’re into baking, anyway).  I have never ordered anything out of them because it’s just too expensive, especially when you add shipping.

They have a lot of pre-made mixes, and in the last catalog a mix for Maple Pecan Corn Muffins caught my eye.  I recently came across a bottle of maple flavoring I forgot that I had, and thought “I need to use this stuff”, and also the Dearest Husband loves cornbread and pecans.

So I took my favorite corn muffin recipe and made some changes to make it more “muffin-y” as well as adding the maple and pecan.

Maple Pecan Corn Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c. corn meal
  • 1 1/4 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/4 c. sugar (this is more than my usual recipe, but if you like a really sweet cornbread you might add as much as 1/2 cup)
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 c. milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c. melted butter (or canola oil)
  • 1 tsp. maple flavoring
  • 1/2 c. chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Grease 10 to 12 muffin cups.

Mix dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.

Beat the eggs into the milk and add melted butter and maple flavoring.  Mix well and add to the dry mixture, stirring until well-mixed.  Fold in nuts.

Fill greased muffin cups 3/4 full.

Bake 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.  The bottom and sides of the muffins will brown faster in a dark muffin tin than in an aluminum one.

Yield: 10-12 muffins, depending on the size of the muffin tins and how full you fill them.

