Tags

, , , , ,

My first sourdough loaves!

I tried another recipe yesterday, and I think I found a rye bread recipe I can stick with.  I liked the texture of the New York Deli Rye, but it lacked a little flavor.  I liked the flavor of the Buttermilk Rye, but the texture was not as good, and the second day and following, the flavor wasn’t as good, either.

This White-Rye with Onion and Caraway from about.com turned out really well.  I did not put in the onions, and I increased the amount of caraway to 2 tablespoons.  I also did not use white rye flour.  I think what I used was medium rye, but can’t be sure, because the label did not specify.  Otherwise I stuck to the recipe.

The reason that this recipe is better is the sourdough.  You have to mix up the sponge the night before, then refrigerate it, but it is totally worth it.  And making the sponge the night before means that the day of baking the time you have to actually be around the house is less than in SmittenKitchen’s New York Deli Rye.

Next time I think I will try to make the recipe without using commercial yeast, and let the sourdough do all the work.  That will lengthen the rise time, though.  I’d like to see what differences it makes, though.

When I was looking for rye sourdough, part of the reason that I chose the about.com recipe was that it didn’t call for a rye starter.  I’ve read that making a white flour starter into a rye starter is pretty easy, just a matter of feeding the starter with rye a few times, but I don’t really want to do that.  I like to keep things as simple as possible.

