Tags

, , , ,

DSCF3591

The challenge this month at Sourdough Surprises was cookies.  I tried three different batches of oatmeal cookies, and while they taste fine each time, I wouldn’t say the recipe is perfected.

My problem was partly one of expectation.  I wanted a cookie that had some of the flavor of the starter coming through.  Just replacing part of the cookie ingredients with starter didn’t do it.  The second time I made them, I soaked the oats all night with the starter, and that batch did have a more complex flavor.  They tasted good, but they had hard, crunchy little lumps all throughout, and I didn’t feel like fiddling around to find out why.  Also, who wants to make cookies they have to start the day before?  I am all for instant gratification.

So here’s the quick version of the cookies, that requires no overnight soaking.  This is as I made them, however, the cookies spread quite a bit.  I think the addition of an 1/8 or 1/4 cup more flour might remedy that.

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Sourdough Cookies

  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 c. flax meal
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c. packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. margarine or butter, room temperature
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup sourdough starter (100% hydration)
  • 1 1/2 c. uncooked oatmeal
  • 1/2 c. raisins

Combine first five dry ingredients in a medium bowl.  In another bowl, beat sugar and butter together.  Add egg and mix well, then fold in starter.  Next add dry ingredients from the bowl, the oatmeal, and raisins.  Mix thoroughly.

Drop by tablespoons onto a greased cookie sheet, leaving plenty of room between cookies.  Bake at 375 degrees for 8 – 10 minutes until golden brown.

Yields about 1 1/2 dozen.

