Tags

, , ,

DSCF3555Whew!  Christmas is over, so I can go back to my normal baking schedule of once or twice a week.  I was baking something almost every day there for a week or so, mostly quick breads and cookies.

I gave a lot of mini loaves as gifts.  I tried out three new recipes, and they all turned out to be winners.

Gingerbread at the Fresh Loaf.  I love molasses and ginger, so I loved this one.  Definitely grease the pans well and let the bread cool completely before removing from the pan, because it sticks.  A lot.

Almond Poppy Seed Bread at Taste of Home.  This was an improvement over the almond poppy seed recipe I usually use, because it is moister.  It has a whole cup of oil, though.  Next time I’ll try 1/2 cup oil, and 1/2 cup applesauce to make it healthier.  This was also a sticky bread and I had to let it cool completely to get it out of the pans in one piece.

Amanda’s Banana Bread (by a different Amanda).  Also very moist, which I like in a banana bread.  Flavor was good.  All banana bread tastes very similar to me, though.  I have yet to meet a banana bread that knocks my socks off.

Just a reminder: if you would like to get notifications by e-mail when I publish new blog posts, just go to the upper left corner of this page and enter your e-mail address into the box where it says “subscribe”.  It’s free.

