Tags

, ,

DSCF3633When I saw a picture of pretzel  rolls on Pinterest, I knew it was something I’d like.  I love soft pretzels, especially freshly homemade, and I love rolls.  I printed the recipe off immediately.

I finally made them last night, and they did not disappoint.  They have the chewy outer crust of a pretzel and the creamy fluffy insides of a dinner roll.  They’re best fresh, but not bad at all on the second day.

The recipe is simple enough, but like pretzels, they are boiled before being baked, so it takes a little more time and makes a bigger mess.

I made an especially big mess.  The recipe reads “”In a large saucepan, bring 2 quarts of water to a low boil.  Add the baking soda and lower heat to a simmer.”  I brought the water to a boil that was not really “low”, so when I added the baking soda, it foamed up and boiled over immediately.  I also don’t know that a 1/4 cup of baking soda is necessary. I seem to remember making pretzels before with a recipe that called for something like 2 tablespoons.  So next time I will try using a little less.

The recipe specifies active dry yeast but I used instant with no problems.  I decreased the yeast amount to 1/2 tablespoon, and cut the rise times in half.

