Tags

, , ,

I got my new glasses.  I tried them on and it made me almost giddy with joy.  Not only was there no tape in the corners of my vision, everything was so much clearer.  My old glasses were really scratched and the prescription was old.  I just hadn’t realized how bad it was.  Wow.  So I’m happy.

Yummy coconut brownies!

Yummy coconut brownies!

I made my dad brownies for his birthday.  On the spur of the moment I threw in some coconut and coconut flavor extract in place of nuts and vanilla extract, and it was good.  So I thought I’d share the recipe here.  It is adapted from the Fudge Brownies recipe in the Better Homes and Gardens New Cookbook.

Coconut Brownies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. imitation coconut extract (And I really suggest NOT using the cheapest extract you can find.  It makes a difference.)
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup shredded sweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease an 8″x8″ pan and set aside.

Put the butter and unsweetened chocolate in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave in 30 second increments, stirring after each 30 seconds until the chocolate is melted and combined with the butter.

Stir in eggs, sugar, and coconut extract.  Beat lightly with a spoon until just combined.   Stir in flour and shredded coconut.

Spread batter in the greased pan and bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.  Cool on a wire rack.  Cut into squares when cool.

If you really want, you could frost these with chocolate frosting with a few drops of coconut extract stirred in, but I kind of think frosting brownies is overkill.

RH-LinkUp-150

 

 

 

 

 

What do you think?  Is frosting brownies overkill?

