Tags

, , , , ,

DSCF3650“And when they got out of the hospital
They learned their lesson
And from now on they’re gonna play it safe
They gonna take that Greyhound
And leave the drivin’ to that smiley cat on t.v.”

That’s from “Speed Ball”, by Ray Stevens, which is a goofy song about a guy who
“rode his motorcycle very fast” that I used listen to when I was a kid.  That part popped into my head when I made the pain de campagne this time because I have learned my lesson.  I mentioned before that kneading the sticky, high hydration dough made me cranky.

So now I leave the kneading to my Bosch Compact mixer.  Woo hoo, the freedom!

I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before.  Just got stuck in a mental rut, I guess.  Anyway, the bread turned out about like last time, except for the weird volcanic bubbles on the sides.  I think that was the result of me being in a hurry during the shaping process.

Flavor is really good, as usual.

I am getting better at not worrying about my sourdough overproofing, since the sourdough brioche and  the sourdough raisin rolls both required overnight proofing, and they turned out fine.

I chose to make pain de campagne this time not because I wanted to try perfecting it one more time, but because I had to go to town in the morning that day (I made it Friday) but we were also out of bread and I knew this recipe called for a four to five-hour first rise.

So I mixed it up and kneaded it had my kitchen minion knead it for me before I left, and the first rise was a full four and a half hours at room temperature, with no ill effects.  And, as I mentioned, the flavor is really good, which is a result of the long rise.  It “unlocks the flavor of the wheat”, as Peter Reinhart says.

weird volcanic bread bubbles

weird volcanic bread bubbles

