Tags

, , , ,

DSCF3719

I saw a picture of a plate on the blog Edibles and Travels.  It was a restaurant breakfast (actually, brunch) consisting of toast made from olive bread, sautéed spinach, sautéed mushrooms, poached eggs, and an avocado slice.

Now, breakfast is not really my thing.  I’m just not hungry early in the morning, and I don’t like eggs, except when they’re deviled.  The smell of cooked eggs is disgusting.  My husband and kids love eggs.  So usually, breakfast is a labor of love on my part and an effort to be more like the Proverbs 31 woman, who “rises also while it is still night and gives food to her household.” (Proverbs 31:15)

 

 

Oh, did I mention I’m not a morning person?

But I saw that plate and thought “Oooh, that looks good.”  So this past Saturday I gathered all the ingredients, and that was my breakfast, minus the eggs.  Everyone else had various parts of it: the middle child hates mushrooms, so he didn’t get any, my husband got a pass on the green things.

I really enjoyed this breakfast, though I don’t know when or if I’ll ever get everything together to do it again.

I bought kalamata olives for the olive bread.  I like the bread but the olives are a little salty for my taste if eaten alone.

The recipe for the bread came from Bernard Clayton’s New Complete Book of Breads.  It is an enriched dough, with two eggs and some butter and quite a bit of milk.  You flatten the dough into a rectangle and scatter the olives over it, then roll it up like a carpet, as for cinnamon rolls.

If I do olive bread again, which I might for a special occasion of some sort, I’d like to try a leaner dough, less fat, no eggs.  I think the taste of the olives might be complimented better by it.  As it is the dough is so rich it seems to compete with the olives.

 

