Tags

, , , ,

DSCF3777Early in the year I bought the Bread Baker’s Apprentice by Peter Reinhart with some Christmas money.  And I’ve tried a couple of recipes, but haven’t baked out of it as much as I expected, mostly because I’ve been doing so much sourdough, and it doesn’t contain many sourdough recipes.  But I felt like a change, so I tried the Sourdough Pumpernickel last week.

This bread has a little bit of instant yeast in it to boost the sourdough (the shorter rise time keeps it from getting too sour).  The dark color comes from cocoa powder.  I added 1 tablespoon of caraway seeds, because I really like the flavor of rye and caraway.

The recipe worked wonderfully.  As you can see, the loaf rose nicely.  I wish I had added more caraway, though.  Also, the cocoa powder gave it a sort of bitter taste that I don’t care for so much.  Maybe “real” pumpernickel bread is supposed to be bitter, but it wasn’t what I was expecting, since I’ve never noticed that about the store-bought pumpernickel bread I’ve had before.

I weighed the ingredients, and the amount of cocoa powder on the scale seemed much larger than the 2 tablespoons called for in the volume measurement column.  I wonder if using 2 tablespoons instead would have been better.

DSCF3778

Overall it is a good bread, but I still prefer the Sourdough Rye from About.com.

I didn’t bake anything exciting over the Easter weekend, just banana bread because I found a good deal on ripe bananas.  Really, I was too busy sewing Easter dresses and little boys’ bow ties to bake.

