Tags

, , , ,

DSCF3801I like oatmeal bread, but I must confess that the reason I tried this recipe was because it makes three loaves.  The recipe for Maryetta’s Oatmeal Bread can be found online here.  I volunteered to bring bread for the Ladies Day we are having at church tomorrow, and I needed a recipe that was pretty big, but hopefully would still fit in the bowl of my electric mixer.  It’s a Bosch compact, and the most I’d ever made was two loaves at a time.

So at the beginning of the week I made a test batch, since I’d never used the recipe before, and we were out of bread here at home.  I froze two of the loaves, one for us for later, one for the ladies day.

I chickened out on using the mixer – it just looked like it would be too much for it.  By hand I just wasn’t able to get as much of the flour worked in as the recipe called for.  The dough was pretty sticky, though it turned out fine when baked.  The only change I made was to use only 1 tablespoon of salt instead of two.

DSCF3800But I could see that I needed to work on getting the right amount of dough into different sized pans.  I have a motley collection of bread pans acquired from Goodwill, as gifts, and at garage sales, and each is slightly different in size.  I don’t like it when there isn’t enough dough in the pan and the loaf is flat.  It doesn’t affect the taste, but it doesn’t work as well for sandwiches.

Today I made the second batch of Maryetta’s Oatmeal Bread, and I used the mixer.  It worked, but I wouldn’t try a recipe that was any larger in it.  I did manage to get all the flour worked in, and it was still sticky.  When I put it into pans, I measured the dough.  I used 1 lb 2 oz. for the smallest pan, 1 lb, 12 oz. for the largest pan, and 1 lb, 8 oz. for the medium-size pan.

They are the ones at the top of the page.  As you can see, they turned out more regularly-shaped than the first batch.  I also may have let them rise a little longer.

This is a very good bread.  The oatmeal keeps it moist, and the molasses gives it a good flavor, without it being too sweet.  Makes a great PB&J, and a pretty good ham sandwich, too.

