I’ve run across a few articles online lately that I’d like to share.

BIBLE4First, In Remembrance of Me: A Bible Marking Topic at Come Fill Your Cup.  This article lists several scripture chain studies that you can mark in your Bible and read during the time devoted to the Lord’s Supper during worship to help focus your mind.  I love the idea of chain studies, but in moderation, because if you have too many they start to overlap and get confused.

And having said that, here’s another set of chain studies that I found recently (and then lost, and spent a long time yesterday trying to find again because I thought I’d bookmarked it and I hadn’t): Marking Your Bible at Bible Songs and More.  These are more basic studies that could help in studying with someone who isn’t a Christian yet.

Last, Our Culture is Losing its Biblical Heritage, at To Love, Honor, and Vacuum.  Considering the topic of my recent meditation, Which Book are You?, I found the story at the end of the POW’s who reconstructed Matthew from memory very interesting.

And I’ll throw in a quote I came across last night in A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs, edited by David W. Bercot, which is an actual physical book.

Christ is our Bread, because Christ is Life, and bread is life.  He says, “I am the Bread of life.” . . . Then, too, we find that His body is reckoned in bread: “This is my body.” (Tertullian, c. 198)

Here is a scripture that I am going to add to the first topic chain in my Bible from the In Remembrance of Me article.  It wasn’t in the article, but I feel like it belongs.  I’ll either put it at the end of that chain, or do a little fix up with Wite-Out tape in the margin scripture references and insert it into the middle.

51 I am the living bread that came down out of heaven; if anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread also which I will give for the life of the world is My flesh.”

52 Then the Jews began to argue with one another, saying, “How can this man give us His flesh to eat?” 53 So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in yourselves. 54 He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day. 55 For My flesh is true food, and My blood is true drink. (John 6:51-55, NASB)

And now, I am off to make some literal bread, since we’re out.

Do you have any Bible-related links you would like to share with me?  Comment and tell me about them.

