Tags

, , ,

DSCF3855I’m sure that there are many, many recipes out there for sourdough pancakes.  This is mine.  I took the recipe for sourdough pancakes that is in the Friends of Carl starter brochure, and twiddled with it until it suited me.

I’ve never been big on pancakes, but I make an exception for sourdough pancakes.  I love the flavor.

The Night Before:

1/2 cup starter (fresh out of the fridge is fine; fed is fine)

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup water

Thoroughly mix flour, water, and starter in a medium size bowl and cover.  Let sit overnight at room temperature.

The Next Morning:

To the starter mixture, which should now be good and bubbly, add:

1 egg, well beaten

2 tablespoons sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons oil or melted butter

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon baking soda (don’t add until the last minute!)

Mix until just blended, and at the last moment, stir in 1 teaspoon baking soda.  Pour batter onto a hot griddle 1/4 cup at a time and cook until a few bubbles form and pop, leaving holes.  Flip and cook until golden brown on the other side.

Makes about 10 – 5″ pancakes.

