Tags

, , , ,

20130612_135759I haven’t had much time for blogging lately.  Somehow the summer is always busier than I expect.

Today I made the challah recipe from Bernard Clayton’s Complete Book of Breads.

I tried to use the instructions from the Tassajara Bread Book to make a four-strand braided loaf instead of the three-strand loaf I usually make (here is my tutorial for braiding a three-strand loaf of bread).

I didn’t have much luck.  Somewhere in there I lost my place and the second half of the loaf I just sort of arranged into a vaguely braid-like pile.  It will all taste good, anyway.

Last week I made the “Hearty White Bread” recipe from the Complete Book of Breads, but I didn’t get a photo.  It has eggs in it, as well as potato flakes.  Brandon really liked it, and in fact said it was one of the better breads I’ve made lately.  I thought it was okay, but I prefer the flavor of sourdough.

 

